Skip to main content

SBOE Member District 15

Aaron Kinsey headshot photo
 Aaron Kinsey (R)
 P.O. Box 605
 Midland, TX 79702
 (325) 238-6050

Board Term: Jan. 1, 2023 - Jan. 1, 2025 

Aaron Kinsey was elected to serve District 15 of the Texas State Board of Education in November 2022 and was appointed chair of the board by Gov. Abbott in December 2023. 

Kinsey, a lifelong Conservative, is the CEO of American Patrols, an aviation oilfield services company in Midland. Previously, he managed a commercial real estate company in San Antonio.

As the first in his family to graduate from college, Aaron understands the importance of education and its power to change lives.

A graduate of Canton High School located in east Texas, Aaron attended Texas A&M University and served as the Deputy Commander of the Corps of Cadets. He earned a BBA in Accounting and an MS in Finance along with a commission to the US Air Force.

During his nine years in the Air Force, Aaron was a pilot, flying 120 combat missions in the C-130. Also during his service, he taught pilot training and the instructor pilot course. Following active duty, he earned his MBA from Harvard Business School, an experience that honed his skills in defending conservative principles.

Kinsey's mission is to fight for children and stand alongside parents in order to strengthen families and improve educational outcomes across the state of Texas.

Aaron serves on the SBOE’s School Finance/Permanent School Fund (SF/PSF) Committee. He is the chair of the Committee on Strategic Planning and Policy of the Texas PSF Corporation, which manages $55 billion in investments for the benefit of Texas education.

Aaron and his wife Katelyn have been blessed with three children: Barrett, Charles, and Isabel. The Kinsey Family fell in love with West Texas’s hospitality, freedom, and Wildcatter spirit and proudly calls Midland home.

Kinsey represents these counties all across the Panhandle: Andrews, Archer, Armstrong, Bailey, Baylor, Borden, Briscoe, Brown, Callahan, Carson, Castro, Childress, Cochran, Coke, Coleman, Collingsworth, Concho, Cottle, Crane, Crosby, Dallam, Dawson, Deaf Smith, Dickens, Donley, Ector, Fisher, Floyd, Foard, Gaines, Garza, Glasscock, Gray, Hale, Hall, Hansford, Hardeman, Hartley, Haskell, Hemphill, Hockley, Howard, Hutchinson, Irion, Jones, Kent, King, Knox, Lamb, Lipscomb, Loving, Lubbock, Lynn, Martin, McCulloch, Midland, Mitchell, Moore, Motley, Nolan, Ochiltree, Oldham, Parmer, Potter, Randall, Reagan, Roberts, Runnels, Scurry, Shackelford, Sherman, Stephens, Sterling, Stonewall, Swisher, Taylor, Terry, Throckmorton, Tom Green, Upton, Ward, Wheeler, Wichita, Wilbarger, Winkler, Yoakum, and Young.