Skip to main content

September 2018 Resolution Honoring the Long-Range Plan Steering Committee

WHEREAS the State Board of Education is statutorily required to develop a Long-Range Plan for Public Education; and

WHEREAS State Board of Education members felt it was important to receive input from a diverse group of Texans as they prepared this strategic plan; and

WHEREAS the board created a Long-Range Plan of Public Education Steering Committee and issued a statewide call for citizens to serve on the panel; and

WHEREAS more than 600 people were nominated to serve on the steering committee; and

WHEREAS five State Board of Education members and thirteen stakeholders were chosen to serve on the steering committee; and

WHEREAS the steering committee, made up of teachers, administrators, parents, business representatives, higher education officials, students, local school trustees, state agency representatives, and State Board of Education members, met throughout the 2017-2018 school year; and

WHEREAS the group worked diligently researching issues and examining the challenges and opportunities facing Texas public schools; and

WHEREAS steering committee members helped host community meetings held around the state; and

WHEREAS the steering committee ultimately proposed recommendations under broad categories of equity and access; educator recruitment, preparation and retention; student empowerment and engagement; and family empowerment and engagement; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the SBOE does hereby express its gratitude to Lanet Greenhaw, Adeeb Barqawi, Rikki Bonet, Avery Bullock, Sheri Doss, Stacey Edmonson, David Gardner, Carol Harle, George Kazanas, Reagan Miller, Gonzalo Salazar, Rebecca Shah, and Ruth Lopez Turley for their diligent service; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the board extends it thanks to State Board members Donna Bahorich, Barbara Cargill, Tom Maynard, Georgina C. Pérez, and Marty Rowley for their faithful work on the steering committee; and be it further

RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to each member of the steering committee and that a copy be included in the permanent records of the State Board of Education.

WITNESS our signatures this fourteenth day of September, two thousand and eighteen, in Austin, Texas.

Donna Bahorich, Chair

Ruben Cortez, Jr., Secretary