Skip to main content

Seven State Board of Education members begin new term of office

Sen. Larry Taylor, chair of the Senate Education Committee, today administered the oath of office to seven State Board of Education members who are beginning four-year terms of office. 

Returning members, who were re-elected in November, are Brownsville businessman Ruben Cortez, Jr.; San Antonio education administrator Marisa Perez-Diaz; Houston educator Lawrence Allen, Jr.; and retired Fort Worth educator Pat Hardy.

Members joining the board for the first time are Friendswood urologist Matt Robinson; Fairview businesswoman Pam Little; and Dallas educator Aicha Davis.

About half of the board is elected each general election cycle.

The board re-elected Marty Rowley of Amarillo as board vice chair and elected Georgina Pérez of El Paso as board secretary.

The three officers then made the following committee assignments based on members’ preferences and seniority.

Committee on Instruction

Aicha Davis of Dallas

Pam Little of Fairview

Sue Melton-Malone of Robinson

Georgina Pérez of El Paso

Marty Rowley of Amarillo

Committee on School Finance/Permanent School Fund

Lawrence Allen Jr. of Houston

Donna Bahorich of Houston

Pat Hardy of Fort Worth

Tom Maynard of Florence

Ken Mercer of San Antonio

Committee on School Initiatives

Barbara Cargill of Conroe

Ruben Cortez of Brownsville

Keven Ellis of Lufkin

Marisa Perez-Diaz of San Antonio

Matt Robinson of Friendswood