Skip to main content

Senate Confirms SBOE Chair Keven Ellis for Second Term

Austin, TEXAS – April 28, 2023 – The State Board of Education today announced the Texas Senate’s confirmation of Dr. Keven Ellis for a second term as Chair of the State Board of Education (SBOE). Although SBOE members are elected, Governor Greg Abbott appoints the chair from among the 15 board members. The appointment must be confirmed by the Senate, which did so with a unanimous, 31-0 vote. 

Ellis, a chiropractor from Lufkin, was first elected to the SBOE in November 2016 after serving as president of the Lufkin Independent School District Board of Trustees. Ellis represents District 9, home of nearly 2 million residents in a 24-county swath of East Texas and Dallas County. 

First appointed Chair in 2019, Ellis has overseen the review and revision of high-quality curriculum standards including Health, Science, and Social Studies; the latter involving the implementation of important civics standards into the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS). Ellis also oversaw the implementation of Senate Bill 1232 which provided for the creation of the Texas Permanent School Fund Corporation to serve as the sole entity responsible for management of the Permanent School Fund (PSF), which was a joint responsibility of both the State Board of Education (SBOE) and the School Land Board.  

 “I feel the role of a member of the Texas State Board of Education is one of the most important elected positions in the state of Texas, and I am honored to be chosen by Governor Abbott to serve a second term as Chair of this body, “Ellis said. “I want to thank Governor Abbott for this appointment and Lt. Governor Patrick and the Texas Senate for the confirmation. I will work tirelessly to serve our students.”   

For more information on the work and membership of the SBOE, please visit