Skip to main content

Resolution Honoring the 2022 Heroes for Children Award Recipients


WHEREAS volunteers provide invaluable support to our Texas public schools through selfless giving of their time, talent, and financial resources; and

WHEREAS the State Board of Education has honored outstanding school volunteers with the Heroes for Children award since 1994; and

WHEREAS Deborah McReynolds has been a volunteer for eight years in Ector County Independent School District (ISD) where she operates a science laboratory that she helped restore into a functional room for students to enjoy engaging lessons through the program, Sharkfinder; and her tremendous impact helps students develop a love for learning science; and  

WHEREAS Esmeralda Guerrero has volunteered at the Alton Memorial Junior High in Mission Consolidated ISD for the past seven years and she serves as the District Advisory Council president and together with other leaders, she helps lead parent committee meetings that benefit students and the school community; and

WHEREAS Jason Mims is an advocate for students in San Antonio ISD; he encourages his students to dream big when making their postsecondary plans; and his most notable Kindness Campaign recognizes the value in the actions of others and celebrates the accomplishments of young people for whom he has been a mentor, benefactor, and a cheerleader for the past 20 years; and

WHEREAS Rosalinda Ortiz is a volunteer for the last 8 years at Pyburn Elementary in Galena Park ISD where she never left school even after her crossing guard duties ended; and she was president of the Parent-Teacher Association (PTA) where she made great connections with other parents who came together to benefit the whole Pyburn School family; and

WHEREAS Melinda Cox has been a volunteer for North East ISD for more than twelve years where she has held numerous leadership roles; and she started the Johnson High School PTA Smart Driving Club that educates teens on the dangers of distracted driving; and

WHEREAS Lauren Dougherty is an advocate for public education in Klein ISD who works tirelessly to engage parental involvement by organizing a monthly Dual Language Family Night where families get together to share their culture’s food and recipes along with games and craft activities that bring communities together for a common goal; and

WHEREAS Barbara Franklin’s volunteer work in Brazosport ISD started 34 years ago when she founded the Brazosport Safetytown which put into motion a child-focused safety program that has withstood the test of time through her leadership and dedication; and in the district, she also coordinates the annual comprehensive safety education workshop for incoming first graders; and  

WHEREAS Tonia Jaeggi has supported student learning in Cypress-Fairbanks ISD by becoming certified as a volunteer presenter for the Science Resource Center where she delivers hands-on learning to students who are excited to see real critters such as snakes, guinea pigs, ferrets, and worms; And she has also sponsored staff appreciation gifts and various fundraising activities; and

WHEREAS Thomas Beall has advocated for Tyler ISD for 20 years; his Tab and Bonnie Beall Foundation donated $550,000 for scholarship endowment and has impacted 21 graduates to date; And he is an inspiring model and community leader who was named a 2019 Distinguished Alumni for his achievements, strengths of character, and citizenship; and

WHEREAS Carolyn Holubec has been a devoted volunteer for Thrall ISD for more than 20 years; she has served on several committees including, campus PTAs, band booster clubs, and has served as president of the Thrall Community Education Foundation; and she also devotes countless hours to ensure the teacher grants and scholarships continue annually; and

WHEREAS Ken Kuhl has been a volunteer for five years and advocates for public schools and equitable education for the benefit of all students in Fort Worth ISD; and as president of the Council of PTAs, he has earned the esteem of parents, admiration of teachers, respect of principals, and the appreciation of the community for his leadership; and

WHEREAS Jill Beitel has served five different campuses in Prosper ISD for the past 11 years; she has chaired organizations and various clubs, been a room mom and Parent-Teacher Organization (PTO) officer, and serves as a member on the district’s Strategic Plan Committee; And she also volunteers in service groups benefiting the Prosper community; and

WHEREAS Elsa Muñoz volunteers at Townsell Elementary in Irving ISD; she serves as a classroom mom and is an advocate for parent engagement; she spends her time helping teachers and students with craft activities and event decorations; and her helpful and positive attitude makes the school a better place to be for students; and

WHEREAS Elizabeth Chase serves the students and community of Copperas Cove ISD; she fills two challenging volunteer leadership roles as the Project Graduation chairman and cheer booster club president; and despite overwhelming obstacles, her perseverance has resulted in successful outcomes for the students; and

WHEREAS Betty Lyon has been volunteering for Morton ISD for the past 50 years; she is known as everyone’s Nana; her immeasurable love for service includes, substitute teaching, baking for fundraising, supporting students at stock shows, or as a cheerleader on the stands, the Morton community can count on her to be there for them; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the State Board of Education recognizes these outstanding individuals as Heroes for Children and thanks them for their years of volunteer service in their local public schools and communities.

WITNESS our signatures this second day of September, two thousand and twenty-two in Austin, Texas.

_____________________                                      _______________________________ 
Keven Ellis, Chair                                            Georgina C. Pérez, Secretary